10 Books similar to the Harry Potter series for Potterheads
Books similar to the Harry Potter series. (Photo: Unsplash)

10 Books similar to the Harry Potter series for Potterheads

Sometimes we need fantasy to survive reality. Harry Potter is such a fantasy series that introduces us to a magical world and lets us forget about the reality for a course of time. The problem is that the series ends, but if you are looking forward to reading more fantasy books which are similar to the Harry Potter series, then here is a list of top fantasy books for Harry Potter fans or you may say Potterheads.

Circe by Madeline Miller

Circe was the daughter of Helios, God of the sun. When Circe was born, her mother had expected her to be really beautiful, but she wasn’t. There were many expectations which Circe could not live up to. But soon Circe develops a power to make potions that makes amazing things happen. The story is well written and the character of Circe is amazing. Madeline Miller has done a great job in her writing by showing us every aspect of Circe.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

This is a series about Demigods who are half-human and half God. The series follows the story of a demigod named Percy Jackson who doesn’t know that he is a Demigod until one of his teachers change into a monster. Do you think it sounds similar to you? Yes, because this is a fantasy series which is really like the Harry Potter series. The best thing about this series is that it has some elements that we didn’t get to read in the Harry Potter series.

 

Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien

This trilogy is one of the most famous classic fantasy series. J.R.R Tolkien’s writing style can be hard to grasp at the beginning but as you get a hold of it, you will enjoy reading his novels. Tolkien created a world that is magnificent and detailed that you can immerse into. The middle-earth has been plunged back into the darkness with the rise and return of the dark lord Sauron. To save the middle-earth, Frodo Baggins needs to destroy the ring which he inherited from Bilbo.

ALSO READ: 10 Books that Every Woman should Read

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

It’s another a fantasy series which is set in the fictional world that is ruled by the martial empire. The main character of the book, Laia who sets out to find the resistance to seek help for her brother and she has to go to the Black Cliff Academy where Elias, Helene and many other children are being trained. They are living in a world where everyone is almost reduced to slavery and it does not really matter what their occupation is or what they are doing. This book arouses a lot of emotion inside you.

The Mortals Instrument by Cassandra Clare

This is a series of six young adult fantasy novels which follows the story of a teenager named Clarissa “Clary” Adele Fray who witnesses a murder in New York City committed by three teenagers with weird tattoos who disappears after committing the murder. It is her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter. Within 24 hours, Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundane like Clary and her mother?

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

This story follows a heist and its six completely unique people. The novels contain all their perspectives. Leigh Bardugo just has a beautiful writing style; the different perspectives of all the characters are well written. It makes you feel like you are the part of the gang and going for this crazy heist. We also get to read about the backstories of each character and how they came where they are now.

ALSO READ: What Is Learning? Understand The True Meaning Of Learning!

Snow like Ashes by Sara Raasch

This book is about a girl from the winter court. There are four kingdoms based on seasons like winter, spring, summer and autumn court. The spring court had taken over the winter court. The story is about the journey of the main characters to reign their kingdom and returns it to its former glory. The world written in the book is really interesting. There are seasons, rhythms and magic system that makes the fictional world intriguing.

The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas

This book has some essence of magic, villain and modes of travel similar to the magical world of the Harry Potter series. This book is about Iolanthe Seabourne who is an elemental mage which means she can work with the elements water, earth and fire. She doesn’t have control over air and one day she realizes that she has control over lightning and she brings down the lightning bolt. Then the chaos begins as the king of realm appears at her household and everyone is after her because of the lightning bolt and she doesn’t know what to do.

A darker shade of magic by V. E. Schwab

This is an adult fantasy series which is about four London. There is a red London which is full of magic, a grey London which is the powerless London, a white London which is a place deprived of magic and then there is a lost and forgotten, black London. The magic system in this book is very interesting. Even though there is elemental magic like controlling water, fire, air and other elements which are usually simple but the way the magic is described in the books gives it a special and individual entity.

The night circus by Erin Morgenstern

This book is basically about a circus that appears at night. Now the cool thing about this circus is that it’s a travelling circus so it moves from place to place but it’s a circus that is filled with magic and mystery. So much mystery that nobody knows when or where the circus is going to turn out or how it’s going to be? The author describes the night circus in such a magical way that if you want to go to Hogwarts then the night circus will be the second fantasy place you would want to visit.

 

Re-reading Harry Potter series feels nice, but you should also experience other magic, other stories out there. So these were some books that you will love if you loved the Harry Potter series.
Let us know if any other book should have been included in this list and also who is your favourite character in the Harry Potter series?

Latest posts by Ankita Choudhry (see all)
Please follow and like us:

Ankita Choudhry

Books, Art and Movies makes me a creative person. I am focused on my work and compassionate with the people I work with. 

This Post Has 2 Comments

  1. Gopal Batra

    I am not a FAN of HP…. I am FAN of AK now 😀

Leave a Reply